deutsch  | Home | Impressum | KIT

Department of Economics and Management

Kollegiengebäude am Kronenplatz
Bldg. 05.20, Room 3B 05.2

Kaiserstraße 89
76133 Karlsruhe
Phone:  +49 721 608-42147
Fax:  +49 721 608-43936

E-mail:  dekanatHmx5∂wiwi kit edu

Opening hours:

Dean's Office: Mon-Fri 10-12 am
Finance Office: Tue 10-12 am

Event calendar
  • Keine anstehenden Veranstaltungen

Department of Economics and Management @ KIT

Strategy, profile and defining areas of focus
 

A Strategy

The Department of Economics and Management has developed and sharpened its profile in the context of setting up and expanding the structures of the Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT). KIT is the result of merging Universität Karlsruhe and the Helmholtz Association Research Centre. This will be explained in more detail under point B.

The Department follows a strategy of defining areas of focus. The idea of this is to support the concentration of means and resources and therefore create synergies during the time required in each case. The strategy aims to react to current situations and challenges now and in the future by defining further areas of focus.

B Profil

The Department has the method oriented education concept as the base for the study for many years, and is also equipped with suitable technology. The Department has made it a priority to make a significant contribution in an academic and practical sense towards the development, testing and application of theories, and methods for designing and optimising products and structures. Special consideration is given to the dynamics of technical, economic and social development with a focus on optimising the cost/benefit ratio (efficiency). At the same time observing the principles of sustainability and upholding responsibility towards the environment and society, across all activities and projects carried out by researchers, lecturers and staff.

As Figure 1 shows, methodical principles are being developed for the following topic areas in particular:

  • Innovation
  • Global value networks
  • Modelling, simulation & econometrics
  • IT for efficient business engineering
  • Coordination and collaboration
  • Decision-making
  • Measuring, evaluating and aggregating
  • The mechanism of design & behavioural economics

These areas also reflect the core competencies of the Department members in their institutes.


Figure 1:  Profile of the Department of Economics and Management at KIT

In addition to developing and testing methodical principles, they are applied using a problem-orientated approach in a variety of sectors:

  • IT & Communication
  • Energy and Production
  • Health Care
  • Finance
  • Mobility and Traffic
  • Government

In this way the Department works in close alignment with KIT's general focuses "COMMputation", "Man and Technology" and "Mobility", as well as with the KIT centre for "Energy".

The institutes and staff of the Department are involved in these KIT structures in a variety of ways, furthermore they cooperate with leading companies in the fields of economics and administration, and take on consultant roles to assist in policy-making. In this way they make a significant contribution to the success of the excellent research work carried out at KIT.

Because of this, the Department feels well equipped to face the key social challenges of the future following the three KIT pillars of "Education, Research and Innovation" by communicating the necessary knowledge and skills to the students, developing creative problem solutions for people and companies in the economy and society and helping them to implement these solutions successfully and innovatively, in close cooperation with industry and politics.

 

C Defining areas of focus

In a similar way to an orchestra, by cultivating a competitive profile the Department can offer the personal and technical skills and capacity that are needed to perform both traditional and modern "works" with extremely high quality standards. At the same time it is possible to integrate new team members and instruments at any time as well as to contribute towards embarking upon new projects.

In the face of current global developments of virtually all nations turning into service economies, the Department will spend the next few years concentrating on the Services focus. In the image above, the "modern work" for the  Department team is in particular the topic of "IT-based services in networked economies". These economies, such as IT & Communication, Energy, Health Care, Finance, Mobility and Traffic and Government for instance, are particularly driven by modern services that are available virtually everywhere at relatively low cost, at high speeds, individually or as a complex arrangement. In these situations the customer tends to become integrated into the value chain at a very early stage (prosumer), which requires a new communication culture between service customers and suppliers. All these peculiarities of the economies under focus result in areas of responsibility and targets in the Department's "orchestra work", which are shown in the following diagram:

The Services theme has points of reference with the KIT areas of focus and KIT centres mentioned above, it is a theme of great interest in politics and the economy, and it is possible for many employees and institutes to help shape and support it in respect of its content. In line with the Department profile, its content and theme will be concentrated on the following aspects - whilst retaining other themes and structures:

  • Regulation & mechanism design
  • Quality measurement and evaluation
  • Real-time, decentralised decision-making
  • Collaborative added value
  • Open innovation & design
  • Modelling & simulation
  • Service value networks
  • Pricing & incentive systems.

With this, the Department - embedded in the excellent environment of KIT - creates the best conditions for students, lecturers and researchers in order to make valuable contributions relating to the key themes of societies in a globally networked world. In doing so, it aims to be able to attract interesting partners from industry and science for successful cooperation projects, as well as the best brains for study and research.

If you want to ask questions in more depth, please contact

General: Dean (Prof. Dr. Frank Schultmann)
Study: Deans of Studies (Prof. Dr. Kay Mitusch, Prof. Dr. Alexander Mädche)
Research: Vice Dean of Research (Prof. Dr. Stefan Nickel, Prof. Dr. Wolf Fichtner, Prof. Dr. Andreas Oberweis)

…and of course you can also contact all institutes and Faculty Department team members at any time.

english  | Home | Impressum | KIT

KIT-Fakultät für Wirtschaftswissenschaften

Kollegiengebäude am Kronenplatz
Geb. 05.20, Raum 3B 05.2

Kaiserstraße 89
76133 Karlsruhe
Tel:  +49 (0)721 608-42147
Fax:  +49 (0)721 608-43936
Mail:  dekanatCyk5∂wiwi kit edu

Öffnungszeiten:

Sekretariat: Mo-Fr 10-12 Uhr
Finanzreferat: Di 10-12 Uhr

Fakultätsbroschüre (8MB)

Veranstaltungskalender

KIT-Fakultät für Wirtschaftswissenschaften

Strategie, Profil und Schwerpunktbildung
 

A Strategie

Im Zusammenhang mit dem Auf- und Ausbau der durch die Zusammenführung von Universität Karlsruhe und Forschungszentrum der Helmholtz-Gemeinschaft entstandenen Strukturen des Karlsruher Instituts für Technologie (KIT) sowie als Reaktion auf die Dynamik der wissenschaftlichen Entwicklung hat die KIT-Fakultät für Wirtschaftswissenschaften ihr Profil weiter- entwickelt und geschärft. Dieses wird nachstehend unter B näher vorgestellt.

Die Fakultät verfolgt eine Strategie der Bildung von Schwerpunkten. Dies soll für eine jeweils notwendige Zeit die Konzentration von Mitteln und Ressourcen und dadurch die Entstehung von Synergien unterstützen. Die Strategie sieht vor, auch künftig auf aktuelle Situationen und Herausforderungen mit Bildung von weiteren Schwerpunkten zu reagieren, ohne dabei die Herausarbeitung weiterer, neuer Themenbereiche und Schwerpunkte zu behindern.

B Profil

Mit ihrer langjährigen methodischen Grundausrichtung sowie der entsprechenden technischen Ausstattung hat sich die Fakultät zum Ziel gesetzt, einen wichtigen akademischen und praktischen Beitrag zur Entwicklung, Erprobung und Anwendung von Theorien, Methoden, Instrumenten und Hilfsmitteln zur Gestaltung und Optimierung von Produkten, Diensten, Prozessen, Systemen und Strukturen zu leisten. Im Rahmen der Aktivitäten und Projekte der Forscher, Dozenten und Mitarbeiter werden vor allem die Dynamik der technischen, wirtschaftlichen und gesellschaftlichen Entwicklung unter dem Gesichtspunkt der Optimierung von Aufwand und Nutzen (Effizienz) berücksichtigt und gleichzeitig die Prinzipien der Nachhaltigkeit sowie der Wahrung der Verantwortung gegenüber Umwelt und Gesellschaft beachtet.

Wie Abbildung 1 verdeutlicht, werden dabei methodische Grundlagen insbesondere für folgende Themenfelder entwickelt:

  • Innovation
  • globale Wertschöpfungsnetze
  • Modellierung, Simulation & Ökonometrie
  • IT für effizientes Business Engineering
  • Koordination und Kollaboration
  • Entscheiden
  • Messen, Bewerten und Aggregieren
  • Mechanismus Design & Behavioural Economics

Diese Bereiche drücken auch die Kernkompetenz der Fakultätsmitglieder in ihren Instituten aus.


Abbildung 1:  Profil der KIT-Fakultät Wirtschaftswissenschaften des KIT

Neben der Weiterentwicklung und Erprobung methodischer Grundlagen erfolgt deren problembezogene Anwendung in vielfältigen Sektoren, Bedürfnisfeldern und Themenbereichen:

  • IT & Kommunikation
  • Energie und Produktion
  • Health Care
  • Finance
  • Mobilität und Verkehr
  • Government

Damit vernetzt sich die Fakultät eng mit den übergreifenden KIT-Schwerpunkten "COMMputation", "Mensch und Technik" und "Mobilität", sowie mit dem KIT-Zentrum "Energie".

Institute und Mitarbeiter der Fakultät engagieren sich in vielfältiger Weise in diesen Strukturen des KIT, kooperieren darüber hinaus mit führenden Unternehmen der Wirtschaft und Verwaltung und übernehmen Aufgaben einer politikbegleitenden Beratung. Sie tragen so ganz wesentlich zum Erfolg der exzellenten Forschungsarbeiten am KIT bei.

So sieht sich die Fakultät bestens gerüstet, sich gemäß den drei Säulen des KIT "Lehre, Forschung und Innovation" den entscheidenden gesellschaftlichen Herausforderungen der Zukunft zu stellen, indem sie

  1. den Studierenden die dazu notwendigen Kenntnisse und Fertigkeiten vermittelt,
  2. wertvolle, kreative Problemlösungen für Menschen und Unternehmen in Wirtschaft und Gesellschaft entwickelt und
  3. diesen auf innovative Weise zu einer erfolgreichen Umsetzung in enger Kooperation mit Industrie und Politik verhilft.

 

C Schwerpunktbildung

Ähnlich einem Orchester hält die Fakultät mit ihrer Profilbildung personelle und technische Kompetenz und Kapazität vor, die für die Umsetzung sowohl traditioneller als auch moderner "Stücke" mit höchstem Qualitätsanspruch benötigt werden. Gleichzeitig können jederzeit neue Teammitglieder und Instrumente integriert und Beiträge zur Erarbeitung neuer Stücke geliefert werden.

Angesichts der aktuellen globalen Entwicklung nahezu aller Nationen hin zu Dienstleistungsgesellschaften konzentriert sich die Fakultät in den nächsten Jahren auf den Schwerpunkt Dienstleistungen. Als "modernes Stück" im obigen Bild arbeitet das Team der Fakultät insbesondere an dem Themenbereich "IT-basierte Dienste - "Services" - in vernetzten Ökonomien". Diese Ökonomien, wie etwa IT&Kommunikation, Energie, Health Care, Finanzen, Mobilität und Verkehr und Government, sind ganz besonders von modernen Services getrieben, die zu relativ geringen Kosten, mit hohen Geschwindigkeiten, einzeln oder komplex orchestriert nahezu überall zur Verfügung stehen. Dabei sind die Kunden in der Regel sehr früh in die Wertschöpfung integriert (Prosumer), was eine neue Kommunikationskultur zwischen Service-Kunden und -Lieferanten erfordert. All diese Besonderheiten der im Fokus stehenden Ökonomien führen zu Aufgabenbereichen und Zielen in der "Orchesterarbeit" der Fakultät, die in der folgenden Darstellung abgebildet sind:

Das Thema Services weist dabei Berührungspunkte zu den oben bereits genannten KIT-Schwerpunkten und KIT-Zentren auf, wird in Politik und Wirtschaft stark nachgefragt und kann inhaltlich durch zahlreiche Mitarbeiter und Institute mitgetragen und mitgestaltet werden. Im Rahmen des Profils der Fakultät wird - unter Beibehaltung übriger Themen und Strukturen - eine inhaltlich-thematische Konzentration auf folgende Aspekte erfolgen:

  • Regulierung & Mechanismus Design
  • Qualitätsmessung und -bewertung
  • zeitnahes, dezentrales Entscheiden
  • kollaborative Wertschöpfung
  • Open innovation & Design
  • Modellierung & Simulation
  • Service Value Networks
  • Pricing & Anreizsysteme.

Damit schafft die Fakultät  - eingebettet in das exzellente Umfeld des KIT - beste Voraussetzungen für Studierende, Lehrende und Forschende, zu den entscheidenden Themen der Gesellschaften einer global vernetzten Welt wertvolle Beiträge zu leisten. Sie strebt damit an, interessante Partner aus Industrie und Wissenschaft für erfolgreiche Kooperationen sowie die besten Köpfe für Studium und Forschung attrahieren zu können.

Bei weitergehenden Fragen wenden Sie bitte sich an

Allgemein: KIT-Dekan (Prof. Dr. Stefan Nickel)
Lehre: Studiendekane (Prof. Dr. Martin Ruckes, Prof. Dr. Hagen Lindstädt)
Forschung: Forschungsprodekan (Prof. Dr. Marliese Uhrig-Homburg)

…und selbstverständlich stets auch an alle Institute und Mitglieder des Teams der KIT-Fakultät