Department of Economics and Management

Degree programs and course information

Research and studies at KIT Department of Economics and Management are characterized by interdisciplinary networking and a strong focus on current developments. Our department is the largest training center for students of Industrial Engineering and Management in Germany. It also offers a degree program in Economics Engineering (BSc and MSc), as well as one in Information Engineering and Management (BSc and MSc, jointly with the Department of Informatics) and one in Business Mathematics (MSc, jointly with the Department of Mathematics).

Course information for exchange students

Exchange students are allowed to choose courses from all study programs offered by our department. Prerequisites or possible restrictions regarding the number of places for individual courses will be announced by the responsible course instructors and included in the course details. Detailed information on the courses offered within our programs is provided in our module handbooks and the KIT course catalogue (cf. below).

Regarding the structure of the module handbook, please note that the first section always provides information on modules, which are only relevant for students seeking a degree at KIT. Exchange students who do not pursue a degree at KIT do not need to fill whole modules when choosing courses at our department, but can select individual courses. You can find links to detailed descriptions of our courses listed in the second part of the module handbook ("Module component exams"). The module handbooks also provide information on ECTS Credits, term, instruction language and study cycle (all Bachelor and Master level courses are contained in the respective handbooks):

 

Bachelor module handbooks:

Master module handbooks:

 

While exchange students have to take at least 70% of their courses from study programs offered by their host department, up to 30% of their courses may also be chosen from other KIT departments. However, KIT Department of Economics and Management (Wiwi) cannot account for any participation limitations or policies of courses that are offered by other KIT-departments.

Language courses and courses offered by the KIT House of Competence (HoC) and the KIT Centre for Cultural and General Studies (ZAK) can be selected without consideration of the 70 / 30 % rule. In order to set up your semester schedule, you can access the KIT university calendar.

Instruction language

While, overall, our degree programs are offered in German, for a number of courses the instruction language is English: Courses taught in English

We highly encourage international exchange students to achieve at least an A2/B1 CEFR level of German language proficiency before participating in an exchange program in Germany. However, KIT also offers excellent language courses before and during the lecture periods for international students (more information is provided by the KIT International Students Office).

If you are interested in applying for one of our programs as a degree seeking student, please note the general information of the central admissions office on required German language skills.

Course types

We have three main types of courses at the KIT Department of Economics and Management, which are specified in our module handbooks:

  • Vorlesung = lecture
    Registration: Usually no prior registration; no compulsory attendance (exceptions possible).
    Assessment: exam after the lecture period (exam registration compulsory, cf. FAQ)
  • Übung / Tutorium = exercise course / tutorial
    Registration: Information on registration to this course type will be announced during the first session of the lecture.
    Assessment: cf. lecture
  • Seminar = seminar course
    Registration: Limited number of places; prior registration compulsory! Applications start during the previous semester: online or by sending an email to the professor.
    Assessment: Graded seminar exercises, such as active participation, group-projects, presentations and papers/homework.

Further information about our programs

(currently only available in German)

KIT-Fakultät für Wirtschaftswissenschaften

Studiengänge und Kursinformationen

Forschung und Lehre an der KIT-Fakultät für Wirtschaftswissenschaften sind geprägt von interdisziplinärer Vernetzung und einem starken Fokus auf aktuelle Trends und Entwicklungen. Wir sind in Deutschland die größte Ausbildungseinrichtung für Studierende des Wirtschaftsingenieurwesens. Zusätzlich können Abschlüsse in den Studiengängen Technische Volkswirtschaftslehre (BSc und MSc), Informationswirtschaft (BSc und MSc, in Kooperation mit der KIT-Fakultät für Informatik) sowie Wirtschaftsmathematik (MSc, in Kooperation mit der KIT-Fakultät für Mathematik) erworben werden.

Kursinformationen für Austauschstudierende

Austauschstudierende dürfen Kurse aus allen Studienprogrammen unserer Fakultät wählen. Voraussetzungen oder mögliche Begrenzungen von Teilnehmerzahlen für vereinzelte Kurse werden von den verantwortlichen Dozenten bekanntgegeben und sind in den jeweiligen Kurserläuterungen enthalten. Detaillierte Informationen zu den angebotenen Modulen und Kursen der Studiengänge werden in den Modulhandbüchern bereitgestellt (siehe unten).

Der erste Teil des Modulhandbuchs beinhaltet immer Informationen zur Modulstruktur, die für die Studierenden relevant sind, die einen Abschluss am KIT anstreben. Austauschstudierende, die keinen Abschluss am KIT erwerben, sind nicht an die Modulstruktur gebunden und können frei und individuell Kurse aus dem Lehrangebot unserer Fakultät auswählen. Im zweiten Teil des Modulhandbuchs finden Sie Links zu detaillierten Beschreibungen der Kurse ("Teilleistungen") sowie Informationen zu ECTS-Creditanzahl, Kursarten, Semester, Unterrichtssprache und Studienniveau (alle Bachelor- und Masterkurse finden Sie in dem jeweiligen Modulhandbuch):

 

Bachelor Modulhandbücher:

Master Modulhandbücher:

 

Während Austauschstudierende mindestens 70% ihrer Kurse aus Studiengängen ihrer Gastfakultät belegen müssen, dürfen bis zu 30% der Kurse auch an anderen Fakultäten besucht werden. Bitte beachten Sie, dass die KIT-Fakultät für Wirtschaftswissenschaften nicht über mögliche Zugangsbeschränkungen zu Kursen anderer KIT Fakultäten informieren kann.

Sprachkurse sowie Kurse, die vom KIT House of Competence (HoC) oder vom KIT Zentrum für Angewandte Kulturwissenschaft und Studium Generale (ZAK) gewählt werden, müssen in der 70 / 30 % Regel nicht berücksichtigt werden. Um Ihren Stundenplan zu vervollständigen, verwenden Sie das KIT Vorlesungsverzeichnis.

Unterrichtssprache

Um die internationale Ausrichtung der Studiengänge der KIT-Fakultät für Wirtschaftswissenschaften zu fördern, bieten wir eine Reihe von Kursen in englischer Unterrichtssprache an: Courses taught in English 

Internationalen Austauschstudierenden wird vor der Teilnahme an einem Austauschprogramm in Deutschland dringend empfohlen, geeignete Deutschkenntnisse - mindestens Niveau A2/B1 GER - nachzuweisen. Dazu bietet das KIT vor und während der Vorlesungszeit exzellende Deutsch-Sprachkurse speziell für internationale Studierende an (nähere Informationen stellt das KIT International Students Office bereit).

Falls Sie sich für ein Abschlussstudium bei uns bewerben möchten, beachten Sie bitte die generellen Informationen zu den benötigten Deutschkenntnissen der Bewerber.

Kurstypen

An der KIT-Fakultät für Wirtschaftswissenschaften existieren drei verschiedene Kursarten, die im Modulhandbuch näher erläutert werden:

  • Vorlesung = lecture
    Anmeldung: In der Regel keine Anmeldung erforderlich; keine Anwesenheitspflicht (Ausnahmen möglich).
    Prüfung: Klausur am Ende der Vorlesungszeit (Wichtig: Anmeldung zur Klausur verpflichtend; siehe FAQ).
  • Übung / Tutorium = exercise course / tutorial
    Anmeldung: Informationen zur Anmeldung werden in der ersten Veranstaltung der dazugehörenden Vorlesung bekannt gegeben.
    Prüfung: siehe Vorlesung.
  • Seminar = seminar course
    Anmeldung: Begrenzte Platzanzahl; vorausgehende Bewerbung erforderlich! Bewerbungsphase beginnt bereits im Vorsemester; online oder durch Email an Betreuer/Professor.
    Prüfung: Benotete Seminarübungen (aktive Mitarbeit, Gruppenprojekte, Präsentationen sowie Hausarbeiten).

Weitere Informationen zu unseren Studiengängen

(aktuell nur in deutscher Sprache verfügbar)